Lots of green on February 12th

So I totally didn’t realize what I was doing before it was too late when I planned out today’s lunch and dinner (imagine me giggling and lightly hitting my forehead with the palm of my hand). Both my lunch and dinner had a significant amount of green in it. Sorry Mom, I don’t mean in the sense that I ate a lot of fresh veggies but it was still a healthy day. Today’s green came in the form of avocado, pesto, and artichoke hearts.

I prepared most of my Avocado Egg Salad sandwich the night before because I knew making the avocado egg salad would be last thing I’d want to do at 0520 before work. I would be too groggy even for the concentration level required to mash hard boiled eggs with avocado, Dijon, and Greek yogurt. Yes, even to groggy for that! The recipe calls for lemon juice, of which I didn’t add because I ended up not having any even though I was positive I had some in the fridge. Oh well! I think it worked out because I am not a huge lemon fan. The avocado flavor mixed perfectly with the hard boiled egg and little bit of Dijon kick! And the yogurt is basically used to add a little sweetness and help keep the mixture together. image

Dinner was a mix between own recipe and copying someone else’s idea. The best pizza place in town makes a pizza called the Edward Abbey and it is amazing! I am not usually one to go for meatless pizza but I make an exception here. Tonight I decided I wanted an Ed but didn’t feel like paying big bucks for it (this place is the most expensive pizza joint in town and with good reason but I am going through a cheap mood). So I made it myself! After a couple of fights in the kitchen between my boyfriend and I and the dough the pizza cooked perfectly and tasted almost as great as the original idea! This pizza is pretty simple. All it is is dough, pesto, sundried tomatoes, feta, and artichoke hearts. I think the original recipe calls for some mozzarella as well but I decided to skip it and I realized that it was not needed. All of the present components created enough great flavor that the extra cheese wasn’t needed. And, bonus points, it was a hit with the BF! He said, and I quote, “no, I don’t think I’ll need to add Parmesan. It’s really good on its own”. From him that comes as very high praise!

IMG_4241

That’s all for tonight. Chew happy!

Leave a comment